Central Europe Programme 2007 - 2013 


CENTRAL EUROPE is a new EU programme that encourages transnational cooperation to improve innovation, accessibility and the environment in Central Europe and to enhance the competitiveness of its cities and regions.

CENTRAL EUROPE invests €246m to provide funding to projects carried out in partnership between national, regional and local institutions from Austria, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Ukraine.

The programme is financed by the European Regional Development Fund and runs from 2007 to 2013. 

Programme aims and thematic focus

The CENTRAL EUROPE Programme provides funding for cooperation projects covering four thematic areas:

Priority 1: Facilitating innovation across Central Europe

Priority 2: Improving accessibility to, and within, Central Europe

Priority 3: Using our environment responsibly

Priority 4: Enhancing competitiveness and attractiveness of cities and regions


CENTRAL EUROPE Operational Programme

The Operational Programme (OP) is the main reference document and legal basis of the CENTRAL EUROPE programme. It defines, among others, the funding priorities and main requirements project partnerships will have to meet to qualify for support through the programme.

Following a public consultation, the Operational Programme was submitted on 17 October for approval to the European Commission, which approved it on 3 December 2007. The OP was elaborated jointly by the responsible institutions of the participating Member States (Austria, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Ukraine) with the support of the Managing Authority and Joint Technical Secretariat and in close cooperation with the European Commission and stakeholders at regional level.

The next steps in programme implementation will be the first Monitoring Committee meeting on 17 and 18 December in Vienna, that, among others, will discuss the programme schedule for 2008 including the date for the first call, which is planned to be launched during the first quarter 2008. 


Cooperation Area of the CENTRAL EUROPE Programme

The CENTRAL EUROEP Programme area includes eight Member States (Czech Republic, parts of Germany, parts of Italy, Hungary, Austria, Poland, Slovenia and Slovak Republic) and one Partner State (Ukraine). For further details please refer to the Operational Programme.


The Operational Programme of the CENTRAL EUROPE Programme and further information is available at: